Because you all care…

Because you all care so much about my health class and that it kept me on track while i’ve been away I thought I’d share with you my essay for the class. It’s not really an essay, we were supposed to talk about the foods we eat too much of, what to get rid of, what to add, and I did that. 🙂

HERE WE GO!

 

In my diet, I definitely eat a lot of carbohydrates, fiber and protein. Just looking at the first three days of the week, I was over in all four of those categories each of these days.

I eat approximately three bananas per day so, with 27 grams of carbohydrates in each one, those add up fast. I also eat a sandwich almost every day for lunch, so bread adds carbohydrates as well.  Also, bananas have 3.1 grams of fiber, so eating three per day is almost the total amount of fiber I should have per day.

When I look at my diet for the first day, I noticed that I was over for fats. I looked to see what put me over. Really, I don’t eat a lot of fat based foods, but when you have a large piece of sausage pizza and a chocolate chip cookie or two for dinner, that really puts you over. Am I going to stop eating pizza and cookies? No, but I will and do eat them in moderation.

My carbohydrate intake adds up fast. Most, if not all of my foods have 15 or more grams of carbohydrates. The recommended amount for me is 174g and on day one alone, I had 243g. Once again that chocolate chip cookie and piece of pizza, not to mention three bananas really brings it up.

Looking at all of thee numbers, I realize I am pretty consistent with my consumption of sodium. It is normally way below my daily needs, but consistent. Until you look at March 6th, it looks rather consistent. I never realized that Paninis contained so much sodium. Not only was that panini 860 calories, it also contained 2150 mg of sodium, a whole 49mg of the sodium I had eaten that day, and almost 60% more than I should have eaten that day. Needless to say, I won’t be ordering that anytime soon.  Also, that Panini had almost 50g of protein, explaining why I was over on protein for that day as well.

Based on the past week of food logging, I need to eat less of carbohydrates, fiber and proteins. I am pretty on par with sugars. And for the most part, I need to really up my intake of fats, cholesterol, and sodium. I should add foods with more cholesterol and fats such as seafoods and nuts, and more foods with sodium like cheeses. I will definitely be taking those Paninis out of my diet, and although I should, cookies will be leaving no time soon.

That’s all

Happy Shredding

Alicia 🙂

Leave a Reply

