June 27th and Day 1 of Therapy

Hey everybody. so in my June 26th post, i said that what I ate was not enough so a little while after writing the post, I ate a Greek yogurt. Which made my calorie intake for that day 896. Still not enough but better than 766.

 

June 27th.

I woke up at 7:30. I then ate a banana and a Greek yogurt. Then, my dad came home at about 9:30 (he went to work for a little while and then he went back after we went to therapy) and we went to therapy. My dad was trying to scare me by saying, “She is going to move your knee all over the place and it will hurt” and other stuff. well, she didn’t. She was very nice and said that she didn’t want my knee to hurt at all while I was there. She did a few minor tests on my knee and she was moving my knee cap around and when she moved it to the left, she said, “Wow! It goes really far to the left!” I assumed that this was not good, so she then proceeded telling me what was wrong, what we had to do to fix it and then she had me step down a step. It hurt and then she moved my knee cap using tape to the right, and I stepped down the step again and it felt much better. So, I will put the tape on my knee about everyday and I will do the exercises she gave me with it on to train my muscles and knee cap that it is supposed to go in the middle of my knee not the left.

so, the exercises. There are five.

  1. Lie on back with legs bent as shown.
  2. Tighten buttocks and raise them off the floor as high as you can.
  3.  Keep pelvis level
  4. Hold 5 seconds.
  5. 10-15 repetitions, 1-2 times per day.

 

  1. Lie on side with left leg on top.
  2. Bend lower leg slightly
  3. Raise top leg straight up, without letting it come forward.
  4. Hold 3-5 seconds, slowly relax.
  5. 10+ repetitions. 1-2 times a day.
  1. Lie on back with left knee straight up and the other knee bent
  2. Keep the leg completely straight and raise to be parallel with the other leg.
  3. Hold 3-5 seconds and slowly lower.
  4. 10+ repetitions, 1-2 times per day

 

  1. Lie flat on back.
  2. Slide left heel toward buttocks, bending the knee.
  3. Hold 5 seconds and slowly lower.
  4. 10+ repetitions, 1-2 times per day.

 

  1. Stand with back against wall, feet shoulder width apart and 18 inches from wall.
  2. Slowly slide down wall until you are in a “chair” position
  3. Hold 5-10 seconds.
  4. 10+ repetitions, 1-2 times per day.

 

After physical therapy, I ate a turkey sandwich and had some fruit. And then for dinner, I had some pizza.

So, for the day, I had a total of 1500 calories. That’s a lot. Wow. Well, It’s okay.

 

Happy Shredding

Alicia 🙂

Image

2 thoughts on “June 27th and Day 1 of Therapy”

  1. Hey there! I’ve had knee problems in the past so I understand how you’re feeling. Sometimes I wouldn’t be able to walk up stairs without my knee giving out. So I’m hoping you have a speedy recovery 🙂

    –Lela

  2. I had knee surgery (ironically it was 2 days after the actual “September 11th” back in 2001) and it took me 4-5 months before I was back to normal…it’s slow going and annoying but you’ll get there! Just keep up with your therapy exercises.

Leave a Reply

